2DARKPARK

ABOUT - ARCHIVE - BLOG - HOME - LINKS - PROJECTS - SOCIAL

And so begins the blog. I figure I ought to put out a general idea of what I'll be putting here.

I basically plan to write about whatever interests me enough to write something longwinded about it. Usually that's going to include politics, computing, music, video games, the internet, culture, and queer issues. Other topics can - and likely will - come up, but those are likely going to be the main focus of my writings.

For politics, I plan to offer a Marxist/Anarchist/generally left perspective on whatever the subject might be, be it economics, social issues, international relations, whatever. There are a lot of things in the world and as much as I'd like to, I can't write about all of them, can I now?

In the area of computing, my interests lie primarily in old technology, history, and the open source movement. I find them all to be fascinating, and I enjoy sharing what little I know about them with others. Hopefully, I'll be able to put out some interesting content about that sort of thing.

Music has always been something I've had a love for, and I love sharing in it - finding new music from friends, producing, discovering, recommending - that sort of thing. I plan to write about music that I enjoy, bands that I like, and things that I want to put more eyes on - obscure artists and old albums, that sort of thing.

I'm going to admit - I love boomer shooters. Doom, Quake, Duke Nukem, Blood, Unreal... I love that shit. I want to write about why I love these games, why they're great, their impact, their legacy, their modern communities, the incredible tech behind them, and et cetera. Expect a lot of Carmack worship.

The internet and the freedom it represents is very important to me, and as of late it seems to be under attack by corporate overlords and lobbyist shills. I want to write about why the internet is great, why it's not so great, and what we can do about it.

That about wraps it up.

-Nat H.

Return to Blog
Return Home